Sequel to “Red, White & Blues” Now in Rewrite & Edit Phase Or “The Agony and the Ecstacy of Editing, Part Two””

Here we go, folks!  The ugly truth about rewrites and edits in all its glory, so to speak.

I am hoping that these blogs might help other authors realize that they are not alone when going through this process; that the process itself is often times not productive while other times it can be very effective.  Just like writing itself.

Never did get all the way through the draft to complete the editing on the first attempt, but have since started again from the beginning.  Counter-productive, you say?  Perhaps, but since I will have to re-read and edit it god knows how many times, does it really matter?  I’m a firm believer (as a head-in-the-clouds writer) that there is no “right” way to do most things because we all work differently.  If the end result is achieved, it doesn’t matter which path you take to get there.

That said (or admitted), I plugged along ALL DAY yesterday and got further along than I had on the first pass.  (See-we’re making progress!)  Unfortunately, I realized that I had to add a section on a specific historical event, so that ADDED a page instead of cutting the thing down.  Well, it happens.  And will continue to happen until the draft gets perfected.  I have no timeline as to when this will get done, so I have the freedom to indulge myself as I go.

I’m happy to report that I did see quite a bit of yellow highlighted sections (indicating possible removal), so while I did add a page, many more pages are slated for the delete button.

Back to the drawing board, as they say!  Stay tuned for Part Three…

Leave a Reply

