Sequel to “Red, White & Blues” Now in Rewrite & Edit Phase Or “The Agony and the Ecstacy of Editing, Part Four”

My last post on this subject was way back in June.  Sadly, I don’t have much to report at this stage as my reader hasn’t finished the manuscript yet and so we cannot discuss all the possible edits and changes that need to take place.

So what does an author do while twiddling their thumbs waiting?  Start a THIRD book, of course!  Yes, it’s crazy.  I had intended for “Red, White & Blues” to be a stand alone story, but having created such a huge cast of characters and because there was so much more of the timeline to cover (since it ended in 1977), I went ahead and wrote a sequel.  Two, I thought, would end it.  Once I began the third part in what could potentially turn into a trilogy, I thought that it could work.  Then again, it might not.

Writing a sequel seemed logical.  Many readers told me that they became so attached to the characters that ending the book was a bit sad for them as they realized that they would never know what became of them in the years that followed 1977.  The second book focuses on the growing children of the main characters as well as dealing with the very scary beginnings of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco in the 1980’s.  While many of the characters are familiar, new ones are also introduced.  Asher and James are a gay couple in the heart of the AIDS fight; a new love interest emerges for Maura and twins Salem (Nick) and Alex Lund become closer as they face a dark and dangerous threat to one of their own.

This third installment is going painstakingly slow, so I am not sure where it will end up (in the recycle bin?  as a new manuscript?).  I can only admit that I am hopelessly addicted to my characters and their lives and if I don’t write about them, I feel lost.  We writers are a very strange lot indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

